Club Champion: Alex Zamanian

Finalist: Daniel Bluestone

Points Race


1Alex Zamanian449
2Tom O'Riordan339
3Eric Wicklund274
4Marty Storer259
5Albert Steg259
6Daniel Bluestone255
7Tony Wuersch226
8Ahmet Bolat207
9Steve Cummings191
10Eric Sulkala187
11David Kornwitz168
12David Bowen132
13Karen Davis122
14Howard Rosenthal119
15Rich Sweetman110
16John Smidt108
17Jeremy Kornwitz99
18Anne Bidner97
19Tom Kunysz85
20Phyllis Seidel80
21Sid Bourne76
22Adam Rosen75
23Duncan Noyes73
24Ed Ahola71
25Michael Kay71
26Daniel Stroe70
27Dale Libkin54
28Dan Chicoine53
29Shahin Sadeghzadeh52
30Oliver Outerbridge42
31Greg Jukins39
32David Cox36
33Ed Murray33
34Jim McKenna33
35Steve Morrow30
36Arkady Kuperman24
37Roger Rondeau23
38Steve Boggess17
39Ross Gordon16
40Charles Grandon14
41Bill Barrows12
42Bogdan Ianculescu12
43Tom Meyer12
44Marcus Hermansen11
45Mike Giarratano10
46Stephen Collins10
47Josh White9
48Michael Dostoomian9
49Rob McKean7
50Shannon Woodward7
51Mike Melendez7
52Joe Mellia5
53Marc Krell5
54Cosmin Roman5
55Jameson Voll5
56Luke Boyens-Hahn2
57Payan Rohani2
58Kevan Towfigh2
59Dimitri Loi2
60Ali Abdi2
61Chris Legender2
62Stephen Hassman2
63Steven McPherson2
64Chris Marinov2
65Judson Edwards2

Tournament & Playoffs Results


14 players competed in the final tournament of the 2015/2016 season. Ed Ahola was the big winner, defeating Eric Wicklund in the final round. The consolation final featured Howard Rosenthal beating Steve Cummings.

At the same time, the season-end playoffs was going on between the 4 semi finalists. Alex Zamanian defeated Marty Storer and Daniel Bluestone defeated Tom O’Riordan. Alex and Daniel will play the finals for the title of NEBC Champion at some point before the next season begins.


In our 100.05% return May tournament, Eric Sulkala broke through the field of 23 players, beating director extraordinaire Karen Davis in the finals to take first place. Semi-finalists were Alex Zamanian and Marty Storer. Rich Sweetman defeated Albert Steg in the finals of the consolation round.


In a tournament with big playoff implications, 22 enthusiastic players showed up to compete in April. Tony Wuersch defeated Daniel Stroe in the 13- point final match, placing him in the thick of this season’s top 7 playoff points earners who earn a spot in the season-end playoffs after the May tournament. Semi finalists were Tom O’Riordan (still #2 in the points race) and new member, but apparently no stranger to skilled gammon, Steve Morrow. Consolation finals was contested between Marty Storer (#6) and Daniel Bluestone (#4) where Daniel prevailed.


Lots of out-of-towners, many of whom are strong players, showed up for our March tournament to give a packed house of 27 players. However, it was in-towner Alex Zamanian beating Marty Storer in the finals. Semi-finalists were Michael Kay and Adam Rosen. First and second in the consolation were Eric Wicklund and Karen Davis respectively.


It was cold, but the action was hot! 29 players including a slew of new players showed up to compete in the February tournament. This was the most since 30 showed up for the September tournament earlier this season. Newish, but very strong Ahmet Bolat took 1st place over 2nd place Anne Bidner. Semi-finalists were new member Oliver Outerbridge and Daniel Bluestone who continued his consistent performance this year. Alex Zamanian took down David Kornwitz in the finals of the Consolation round.


21 players ignored the bad weather report and showed up in January ready to roll. Jeremy Kornwitz entered for the first time this season, but apparently wasn’t rusty at all because he took 1st place. Marty Storer took 2nd in his first cash of the year. Semi-finalists were Phyllis Seidel and Daniel Bluestone. Meanwhile, the consolation finals featured Eric Wicklund beating Steve Cummings.


A new tournament and a new winner, just the way we like it! The 21 player December tournament was won by Daniel Bluestone, his first ever NEBC gold medal. 2nd place went to David Kornwitz and the semi-finalists were Tony “Backgammon” Wuersch and Eric Wicklund. Consolation finals was won by lasts month’s Main tournament winner, Alex Zamanian and second place in the Consolation went to veteran player John Smidt.


26 players showed up ready to roll in the NEBC Big Bonus Points Tournament with longer matches and higher entry fees and prize money (and lobster rolls!). Tom O’Riordan made it to the finals for the second month in a row, but he was vanquished by Alex Zamanian in the 15 point final match. Semi-finalists were Steve Cummings and David Bowen.

The consolation finals, played late in the evening, featured Ahmet Bolat, a new player this year (but no stranger to kicking butt), beating Tony Wuersch.


Another large crowd competed in the October tournament. When the 26 players were whittled down to two, it was the classic battle of the Toms — O’Riordan vs. Kunysz. The luck (or is it skill?) of the Irish prevailed when Tom O’Riordan brought home the gold. Semi-finalists were Daniel Bluestone and Howard Rosenthal.

David Bowen, after losing his first match in the main, went on to win 5 straight in the consolation round to take first place. His final victim was Albert Steg.


A big crowd of 30 players showed up to compete in the inaugural tournament of the 2015-2016 season. Club Champion Albert Steg prevailed in the main round by defeating Sid Bourne in the 13-point finals. Semi-finalists were Dan Chicoine and Greg Jukins. Down in the finals of the consolation round, it was Eric Wicklund over Tom O’Riordan.